Legal Article

Salient Features of the Hindu Succession Act, 1956: A Comprehensive Overview

Advocate Shivendra


High Court Lucknow


Reading Time:

Published on: 6 Aug, 2023

The Hindu Succession Act, 1956, marks a significant step towards modernizing Hindu personal laws in India. Before this act came into force, Hindu succession was governed by traditional scriptures and varied customs, which were often ambiguous and disparate. The Act aimed to codify and standardize the rules of inheritance and succession while making strides toward gender equality. Let’s delve deep into the salient features of this groundbreaking legislation.

1. Applicability and Scope

  • The Act applies to all Hindus, including Buddhists, Jains, and Sikhs.
  • It governs both intestate (without a will) and testamentary (with a will) succession.

2. Overriding Effect

  • The Hindu Succession Act has an overriding effect on any other law inconsistent with it, unless expressly excluded by such law.
  • It supersedes any custom or tradition which is contradictory to the Act’s provisions.

3. Gender Equality (With Some Limitations)

  • The Act recognizes the right of women to inherit property. However, originally, while sons had absolute rights over joint family property, daughters only had a limited estate.
  • It was only after the 2005 amendment that daughters were recognized as coparceners, granting them rights equal to sons in the ancestral property.

4. Classification of Heirs

  • The Act classifies heirs into two classes: Class I and Class II.
  • In the event of intestate death, Class I heirs have the first right to inherit the property. If there are no Class I heirs, Class II heirs come into the picture.
  • If there is neither a Class I nor a Class II heir, the property goes to the agnates (related by blood through males) and then to the cognates (related by blood but not necessarily through male lineage).

5. Full Ownership for Women

  • A female heir has absolute rights over the property she inherits. She can choose to dispose of it as she sees fit. This marked a departure from the earlier limited rights where women mostly had life interests in the property.

6. Testamentary Succession

  • The Act upholds the right of a Hindu to dispose of his property as per his wishes through a will. This applies to both male and female Hindus.

7. Notional Partition

  • In cases where a Hindu dies intestate and is survived by both male and female heirs, a notional partition is assumed immediately before his death. This ensures each heir receives a share as per the Act’s stipulations.

8. Rights in Coparcenary Property

  • While the original 1956 Act did not recognize daughters as coparceners, the 2005 amendment corrected this disparity. Daughters now have the same rights and liabilities as sons in a Hindu Undivided Family.

9. No Succession Rights in the Property of a Convert

  • The descendants of a person who has converted from Hinduism do not have the right to inherit the property unless they have converted back to Hinduism before the death of the deceased.

10. Abolition of “Survivorship”

  • Before the Act, the principle of survivorship applied to joint family property. Upon a member’s death, the property was divided among the surviving members. The 1956 Act introduced the principle of succession over survivorship, ensuring legal heirs received their rightful share.


The Hindu Succession Act, 1956, was a watershed moment in the evolution of Hindu personal laws, ensuring a more equitable distribution of assets among heirs and advancing the cause of gender equality. Over the years, through various amendments, the Act has further evolved, ironing out disparities and striving to be more inclusive. It stands as a testament to the adaptability of traditional systems in the face of contemporary needs and values.