Legal Article

National Capital Territory (NCT) Delhi

Shivendra Pratap Singh


High Court Lucknow


Reading Time:

Published on: 11 Feb, 2023

The National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi was formed on February 1, 1992, as a result of the 69th Amendment to the Constitution of India. The amendment created the NCT of Delhi, which was given the status of a Union Territory, with the Lieutenant Governor as its administrator.

Before the formation of the NCT of Delhi, the city was governed as a Union Territory with a Chief Commissioner. The formation of the NCT of Delhi marked a significant shift in the administration of the city, giving it more powers and autonomy compared to its previous status as a Union Territory.

The formation of the NCT of Delhi had a number of effects on the city and its citizens. Some of the key effects are:

  1. Improved governance: The formation of the NCT of Delhi led to an improvement in governance, as the city was now governed by an elected government, rather than a Chief Commissioner. This allowed for more democratic and accountable governance, as the elected government was accountable to the citizens of Delhi.
  2. Increased powers: The NCT of Delhi was given increased powers and autonomy, compared to its previous status as a Union Territory. The NCT of Delhi was now empowered to make its own laws and regulations, subject to the approval of the Parliament of India.
  3. Enhanced development: The formation of the NCT of Delhi led to an enhancement in the city’s development, as the city was now able to take advantage of its increased powers and autonomy to pursue its own development goals.
  4. Improved quality of life: The formation of the NCT of Delhi and the improvement in governance and development that it brought, has led to an improvement in the quality of life for the citizens of Delhi.

Union territories

The Union Territories are a type of administrative division in India. According to the Constitution of India, Union Territories are territories that are governed and administered directly by the central government, as opposed to the states, which have their own elected governments. There are currently nine Union Territories in India.

The Union Territories in India are:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  4. Lakshadweep
  5. Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi)
  6. Puducherry
  7. Ladakh
  8. Jammu and Kashmir
  9. Andhra Pradesh Capital Region

Each Union Territory has its own unique history, culture, and administration, but they are all governed by the central government, through the Ministry of Home Affairs and its agencies. The Lieutenant Governor is the head of the administration of a Union Territory, and is appointed by the President of India.


We invite your question: Comment below


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *